Collectible / Gold and Silver State Sales Taxes in Florida
Florida Laws and Regulations
The State of Florida requires the collection of sales taxes on certain products sold by Silver.com and delivered to an address in Florida. These taxes must be collected on (1) coins or currency of the United States if such coins or currency are not legal tender of the United States at the time of the sale of such coins or currency unless the aggregate sales price of such coins or currency exceeds $500 in a single sales transaction; (2) any coins or currency that are not legal tender in any country unless the aggregate sales price of such coins or currency exceeds $500 in a single sales transaction; (3) any coins or currency of any country that are legal tender but are sold for a price that exceeds their current exchange rate, unless the aggregate sales price of such coins or currency exceeds $500 in a single sales transaction; (4) any coins or currency that are legal tender of a country other than the United States that do not have a face value, unless the aggregate sales price of such coins or currency exceeds $500 in a single sales transaction; (5) bullion, defined as gold, silver, or platinum in the form of bars, ingots, or plates, normally sold by weight unless the total sales price for such bullion in a single sales transaction exceeds $500; (6) palladium or copper in the form of bars, ingots or plates, regardless of the dollar amount of the transaction; (7) accessory items; and (8) processed items. All other products sold by Silver.com are exempt from these taxes.
The following definitions apply to products on which taxes must be collected in Florida:
- Legal Tender. Coins or currency that are acceptable as a measure of value and a standard of exchange for goods and services.
- Single Sales Transaction. Determined per invoice, and not on a line-item basis.
- Accessory Items. Items such as holders, tubes, coin flips, and apparel.
- Processed Items. Precious metals that have been processed by third parties into items that are valued on more than their precious metal content, such as statues or colorized coins.
Sales taxes in Florida are calculated at checkout on the Silver.com website based on (1) the taxability of products sold by Silver.com in Florida set forth above, and (2) the specific tax rates established by the taxing jurisdiction of the delivery address in Florida.
Silver.com began collecting sales taxes in Florida on July 1, 2021, pursuant to legislation enacted in Florida in 2021. Our sales tax license number in Florida is 78-8018421203-8.
If you are a Florida-based reseller and wish to file a Reseller Certificate with Silver.com, please email it to firstname.lastname@example.org; or mail it to Silver.com, Inc., 11700 Preston Road, Suite 660153, Dallas, TX 75230. Once we receive your Reseller Certificate, we will enter it into our system, and you will not be charged sales taxes on future orders as long as your Reseller Certificate remains valid and in force. Please note that Florida requires the reseller to renew their Reseller Certificate on an annual basis. All Florida Reseller Certificates expire on December 31 of each year; therefore, a reseller using Silver.com’s website will be required to submit a current Reseller Certificate each calendar year.
Please note: The above is not a comprehensive description of sales tax laws and requirements in the State of Florida. It is only intended to provide the reader with a brief overview of those sales tax laws and requirements currently in effect in the State of Florida that relate to the reader’s transactions with Silver.com. If you would like to research the sales tax laws and requirements in the State of Florida, we suggest you visit the Florida Department of Revenue located at http://floridarevenue.com/pages/default.aspx.