Gold: $1,341.85 -0.21
Silver: $16.11 0.05

Collectible / Gold and Silver State Sales Taxes in North Carolina

North Carolina Laws and Regulations

The State of North Carolina requires the collection of privilege taxes on certain products sold by and delivered to a North Carolina address.  These taxes must be collected on copper products; accessory items; and processed items.  All other products sold by are exempt from these taxes.

The following definitions apply to products on which taxes must be collected in North Carolina:

  • Accessory Items. Items such as holders, tubes, coin flips, and apparel.
  • Processed Items. Precious metals that have been processed by third parties into items that are valued on more than their precious metal content, such as statues or colorized coins.

Privilege taxes in North Carolina are calculated at checkout on the website based on (1) the taxability of products sold by in North Carolina set forth above, and (2) the specific tax rates established by the taxing jurisdiction of the delivery address in North Carolina. began collecting privilege taxes in North Carolina on October 1, 2018.  Our privilege tax license number in North Carolina is 003266772.

Please note:  The above is not a comprehensive description of sales tax laws and requirements in the State of North Carolina.  It is only intended to provide the reader with a brief overview of those sales tax laws and requirements currently in effect in the State of North Carolina that relate to the reader’s transactions with  If you would like to research the sales tax laws and requirements in the State of North Carolina, we suggest you visit the North Carolina Department of Revenue located at